AFCON 2021: 11 foreign players arrive Super Eagles camp

Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr


Of the 17 expected foreign players for the Africa Cup of Nations 2021, a report has confirmed that at least 11 of them have reported to the Super Eagles camp ahead of the championship slated to start from 9 January 2022 in Cameroon.

Other players are still being expected in the camp as the training session is set to start today, 2 January 2022 at the Moshood Abiola National Stadium.

The foreign players already in camp are: Moses Simon (Nantes, France), Chidozie Awaziem (Alayanspor, Turkey), Henry Onyekuru (Olympiacos, Greece),
Francis Uzoho (AC Omonia, Cyprus), and Peter Olayinka (Slavia Praha, Czech Republic).
Others are Chidera Ejuke (CSKA Moscow, Russia), Daniel Akpeyi (Kaizer Chiefs, South Africa), Sadiq Umar (UD Almeria, Spain), Olisa Ndah (Orlando Pirates, South Africa), Taiwo Awoniyi (Union Berlin, Germany).

RELATED:  PSG Set To Replace Kylian Mbappe With Barcelona Forward

Other players still being expected include the England-based Kelechi Iheanacho of Leicester City FC, Wilfred Ndidi (Leicester City FC), Alex Iwobi (Everton FC), Oluwasemilogo Ajayi (West Bromwich Albion, England); William Ekong (Watford FC, England) and Frank Onyeka of Brentford FC.

RELATED:  World Cup: Super Eagles Boss Gernot Rohr Speaks On Crazy Fixture List

The rest are Odion Jude Ighalo of Al-Shabab Riyadh, Saudi Arabia, Samuel Chukwueze (Villarreal FC, Spain), Ahmed Musa (Fatih Karagumruk, Turkey), Joseph Ayodele-Aribo (Galsgow Rangers, Scotland), Goalkeeper Maduka Okoye of Sparta Rotterdam, The Netherlands, Olaoluwa Aina (Torino FC, Italy); Jamilu Collins (SC Padeborn 07, Germany); Tyrone Ebuehi (Venezia FC, Italy); Zaidu Sanusi (FC Porto, Portugal); Kelechi Nwakali (SD Huesca, Spain) and Kenneth Omeruo (CD Leganes, Spain) are expected to be at the camp.

RELATED:  AFCON 2021: Sudan coach hails Super Eagles after 3-1 defeat

The 2021 AFCON group stage has Nigeria in Group D to contest with Egypt on January 11, Sudan on January 15 and Guinea Bissau on January 19, with all three matches taking place at the Adjia Stadium in Garoua, Cameroon.

Write A Comment