2022 World Cup:Rules Changed by FIFA for two play-off games

Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr


FIFA has changed the 2022 World Cup qualifying format for the intercontinental playoffs to single-leg games at a neutral venue.

The winners of the matches will take the last two spots at next year’s tournament in Qatar.

FIFA, in a statement on Friday, cited

“unprecedented disruption caused by the COVID-19 pandemic”

when scheduling the games for June.

RELATED:  Checkout The Result of UEFA Champions League Group Stage Draw

The world football governing body has, however, not confirmed a host for the two games, which will be played on June 13 and 14.

The playoffs will involve teams from AFC (Asia), CONMEBOL (South America), OFC (Oceania) and CONCACAF (North American and Caribbean region).

RELATED:  Adorable photo of footballer Jude Ighalo and his daughter

FIFA will make the World Cup tournament draw on April 1 in Doha. Only 30 of the 32 qualifiers will be known at the time, with the intercontinental playoffs still to come.

RELATED:  Nigeria Sports Ministry Refunds Mikel’s $4,600

The draw for the intercontinental playoffs will be on November 26. The World Cup is scheduled to start on November 21, with the final on December 18.

Write A Comment