SPORT

Ex-EPL referee Peter Walton, explains why VAR didn’t cancel Leicester’s winning goal

Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr


PJdN9bznK4P

Former Premier League referee, Peter Walton has explained why the Video Assistant Referee (VAR), did not chalk off Youri Tielemans’ winning goal in the FA Cup final on Saturday.

Tielemans unleashed an unstoppable effort past Kepa Arizzabalaga in the second half, to see Leicester City beat Chelsea 1-0 at Wembley.

However, many Chelsea fans feel the goal shouldn’t have stood, given that the ball made contact with Ayoze Perez’s left-hand, via his knee, as he attempted to intercept a Reece James’ pass.

RELATED:  ‘English’ Style Helped Leicester In Champions League Clash At Sevilla – Mahrez

Luke Thomas picked up the loose ball and fed Tielemans, who was allowed to drive into the space and score.

However, Walton says the supposed offence did not create the goalscoring opportunity for Tielemans, as such it would not have fallen under VAR’s jurisdiction.

“Personally, I don’t think it was a handball, the ball has deflected off Perez’s knee and just caught his arm. That in itself people may argue is handball, I don’t think it was.

“However, VAR would not have not got involved in that incident because the actual goalscoring opportunity didn’t occur immediately when there was a potential handball.

“There was seven seconds or so between that potential handball and the ball hitting the back of the net.

“That’s not immediately and the law states it’s only an offence if the goalscoring offence happens immediately, so good use of VAR,” Walton told BT Sport.

 




Write A Comment