UI 2016/17 New Grading System & Change In Status Of GES Courses

Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr

I refer to my memoranda of 25 February and 2 March, 2016 respectively on the above subject matter.

The referenced memos were specifically on the implementation of the new 4-Point Grading System which was subsequently put on hold until the 2016/2017 Session due to some logistic constraints. The implementation is due this academic session (2016/2017).

Consequently, I write to inform you of Senate’s decision, at its meeting of 18 July, 2016, on the New Grading System and Minimum Units to be registered for and passed by students at each level, as well as Change in the status of GES courses in the University as follows:

1. The average minimum units taken at each Level should be 40 units.

2. The minimum units to be passed at each Level by students in order to proceed to the next Level should be 60% of 40 units.

RELATED:  Federal University Dutse Post UTME/DE Screening Form – 2017/18 [Cut-Off Mark: 160]

3. All GES courses, with the exception of the “ Use of English I & II (GES 101 and 201) ”, should be made to acquire the status of REQUIRED COURSES.

4. The 4-Point Scale Grading System should be adopted in order to align with other universities world-wide and the recommendation of the National Universities Commission (NUC).

The above implies that the recommended Average Minimum Units expected of the students to take/register for is now 40 units (for the new intakes: 100 Level) as against the old 30 units. Given this development, the regulations guiding withdrawal of students in the University in respect of the new system are as follows:

RELATED:  AAU Admission Processing Procedure For Newly Admitted Students 2016/2017

i. 100 Level: At the end of first year, a student who has passed less than 24 units should be asked to withdraw from the University.

ii. 200 Level : At the end of second year, a student who has passed less than 48 units (cumulative) should be asked to withdraw from the University.

iii. 300 Level: At the end of third year, a student who has passed less than 72 units (cumulative) should be asked to withdraw from the University.

iv. The CGPA at each level should not be less than 1.0
Under the new Four (4)-Point Grading Scale, grades to be used for students who have satisfactorily completed the course of study are as follows:

RELATED:  JAMB CBT Centres Have Helped Curb Exam Malpractices - CPAN

Letter Grade: Marks Grade Point

A (70 and above above) 4
B (60-69%) 3
C (50-59%) 2
D (45-49%) 1
E (40-44%) 0

CGPA Ranges under the new Four (4)- Point Grading Scale for Classification of Degrees:

3.5- 4.00 – First Class Honours
3.0-3.49 – Second Class Honours (Upper Division)
2.0-2.99 – Second Class Honours (Lower Division)
1.0-1.99 – Third Class Honours

No student whose CGPA is less than 1.0 shall be awarded a degree

Deans of Faculties and Heads of Departments are enjoined to ensure compliance and commencement of the new regulations with the intakes of 2016/2017 Session, while the old regulations remain applicable to students admitted before the 2016/2017 Session.

Thank you.
Prof. M.A. Kehinde

Write A Comment