AFRIMMA Is International Stage For African Artistes — Founder

Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr

The founder of the African Muzik Magazine Awards (AFRIMMA), Mr Anderson Obiagwu, on Monday said the awards were instituted to provide an international platform for African artistes.
Obiagwu made the statement during the event ceremony which held at the Dallas Convention Centre, Texas, in the US.
He said African artistes were marginalised by international awards, hence the need for an authentic international African platform to showcase African artistes to the world.
“There is nowhere like Africa in the world, that is why we are here and we are promoting African music.
“BET (Black Entertainment Television) has been in business for so many years and we have an African category, but our artistes do not grace the stage– that is the reason why we decided to give our artistes from Africa this platform.
“This started like a passion, and then turned to a movement, and we are not even there yet; we are still going to get better, just be patient with us.
“If you are an artiste in Africa and you are invited to come and grace this stage, nobody is going to pay you to do this, this is for us,’’ he said.
The News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) reports that the event, which is the third edition, was hosted by comedian Basket and Cynthia Bailey of the ‘Real Housewives of Atlanta’.

RELATED:  Popular Kenyan TV Presenter Mocks Nigerians, Says Mark Zuckerberg Just Wasted His Time In Nigeria

There were 25 categories of awards and Nigeria led the winners’ table with nine awards including: Artist of the year – Flavour; Best Male West Africa – Olamide.
The other winners were– Best collaboration: “Reggae Blues”- Harrysong ft., Kcee, Olamide, Iyanya; Crossing Boundaries with Music – Wizkid; Song of the year – Tecno; and Best Video Director – Patrick Elis.
Nigerians also won Best Rap Act – Phyno; Best African DJ USA – Dj Dee Money; and Music Producer of the year – Masterkraft.
From the rest of Africa were: Best Female West Africa – Efya; Best Male North Africa – Amr Diab; Best Female North Africa – Ibtissam Tiskat.
Others were, Best Male Central Africa – C4 Pedro; Best Female Central Africa – Daphne; AFRIMMA Video of the year – Bisa Kdei; Best male Southern
Africa – AKA; and Best Female Southern Africa – Chikune.
The next awards were, Best African Group – Sauti Sol (Kenya); Best Gospel Act – Willy Paul (Kenya); Best Male East Africa – Diamond Platnumz (Tanzania) and Best Female East Africa- Akothee (Kenya).
The rest of the awards were Best Dancehall Act – Shatta Wale; Carribean Artist of the year – Machel Montano; Best African Dancer – Brenda Derry (Cameroon), and Best Newcomer – Harmonize (Tanzania).

Write A Comment