Adamu Lauds Nomination Of Super Eagles Players For CAF Awards

Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr

A former Director-General of the defunct National Sports Commission, Dr. Amos Adamu, on Monday commended the nomination of some Super Eagles players for the 2016 African Player of the Year Awards.
Adamu told the News Agency of Nigeria in Lagos said that such nominations for the GLO-CAF AWARDs would encourage upcoming players, adding that it was well-deserved.
NAN reports that four of the England-based Super Eagles players — Mikel Obi of Chelsea, Ahmed Musa of Leicester City, Kelechi Iheanacho of Manchester City and Alex Iwobi of Arsenal football clubs were nominated.
The one-time President, Organising Committee for the 8th All-Africa Games, said: “It’s a good thing that they were selected; it will sort of encourage younger players to work hard too which is highly commendable.”

RELATED:  DONE DEAL: Chelsea Officially Confirm Signing Of Olivier Giroud From Arsenal

Adamu said: “Being nominated shows that you are doing enough to be recognised. Our players have been doing well, which is impressive.”
Since the inception of the award in 1992, Nigerian players have won the awards on four occasions.
Late Rashidi Yekini won the African Player of the Year award in 1993, followed by Emmanuel Amuneke in 1994.
Nwankwo Kanu won the award in 1996 and 1999, while Victor Ikpeba got it in 1997.
NAN reports that Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang of Gabon won the 2015 edition of the awards, while Yaya Toure of Cote d’ Ivoire won it four consecutive times from 20011 to 2014.
The award is sponsored by telecommunications giant, Globacom Limited and GLO-CAF Awards.

Write A Comment