Unilorin SUG Election, Names Of Winners Announced

Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr

After 28 hours of electronic voting last Wednesday (June 22,

2016), the University of Ilorin Students’ Union has elected a

new President to run its affairs for the 2016/2017 academic

session. He is Mr. Shobowale Lukman Olawale, a 300 Level

student of the Department of History and International

Studies, Faculty of Arts.

The new Students’ Union President polled a total of 5, 218

votes to defeat three other contestants.

According to a report on the election submitted to the Vice-

Chancellor, Prof AbdulGaniyu Ambali (OON), by the Dean,

Student Affairs, Prof A.E. Talabi, a copy of which was made

RELATED:  JAMB To Stop Cyber Cafés From Registering Candidates For Its Examinations

available to Unilorin Bulletin, the e-voting, done on the

platform of the University website,, for

the third consecutive year, started at 6.00 a.m. on Tuesday,

June 21, 2016 and ended at 10.00 a.m. on Wednesday, June

22, 2016.
Announcement of the result was done immediately by the

Director, Computer Science and Information Technology

(COMSIT) Unit, Prof. Isiyaku Ahmed, who was the Returning


Other contestants for the post of the President were Bashar

Mubarak, who polled 2, 614 votes to come second; Babaita

Habbeb, 2, 537 votes and Gbadamosi Adejare, 901 votes to

RELATED:  BREAKING: Federal Government Planning To Increase Corpers’ Allowance

emerge third and fourth respectively.
For the position of Vice-President (Permanent Site), Iromini

Omolola defeated Anisere Adejoke with 1,125 votes as

against 594 votes for the latter. For Vice-President, College

of Health Sciences (COHS), Aderemi Temidayo got 49 votes

and was declared winner unopposed.

Also elected into the Students’ Union’s Central Executive

Committee (CEC) was Abdulazeez Olawale, General

Secretary, who polled 613 votes to defeat Quadri Adeniyi,

who got 567votes and Ojajuni Abiodun who had one vote.

The position of Assistant Secretary went to Rufai Kehinde

Esther, who polled 815 votes to defeat Akindele Romoke,

RELATED:  NYSC Members To Enjoy New Minimum Wage

who got 208 votes.
Ojajuni Emmanuel Abiodun, who lost as General Secretary,

clinched the position of Financial Secretary with 835 votes

unopposed in a deft move that suggests last minute political

dexterity while the Public Relations Officer (PRO) position

was won by Omotosho Damilare, who got 208 votes to

defeat three other contestants, Ishola Kayode (197 votes),

Adebisi Jacob (131votes) and Ganiyu Ajani (71votes).

Also elected were Afolayan Kazeem, Welfare Secretary

(Permanent Site); Aremu Ademola, Welfare Secretary (COHS)

; Olona Shakiru, Social Secretary; and Zubair Ibrahim, Sports


Write A Comment