List Of Individual Award Winners For 2015 U17 World Cup (Photos)

Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr

Victor Osimhen and Nigeria the big winners
( 09 Nov 2015

With an outstanding team packed with talented players, Nigeria successfully defended their crown at the FIFA U-17 World Cup Chile 2015. Furthermore, the west Africans took centre stage when it came to the individual honours too.

Top scorer Victor Osimhen and captain Kelechi Nwakali both made their mark on the competition, and after winning the adidas Golden Ball as the tournament’s best player, the latter followed in the footsteps of Cesc Fabregas and Toni Kroos, who are now key members of the senior sides with their respective national teams. Osimhen set a new U-17 World Cup goalscoring record, while Mali’s Samuel Diarra and Ecuador’s example of Fair Play were also recognised.

Adidas Golden Ball: Kelechi Nwakali (Nigeria)
After missing the 2013 party because he was not included in the list, however, the playmaker showed his worth as he shouldered responsibilities and kept a cool head in difficult moments. He scored three goals, including two penalties, and provided a further three a$$ists, a haul that also brought him the adidas Bronze Boot.

RELATED:  ‘Jose Mourinho Will Be Very Angry Next Season’- Yaya Toure Warns Manchester City

Adidas Silver Ball: Victor Osimhen (Nigeria)
The striker, who names Didier Drogba as his role model, more than lived up to expectations in Chile after finding the net in all seven games at the competition. His effort in the final – his tenth goal overall – set a new tournament record, beating the previous best-mark set by Côte d’Ivoire’s Souleymane Coulibaly in 2011 and France’s Florent Sinama Pongolle in 2001. Osimhen duly finished as top scorer in South America.

Adidas Bronze Ball: Aly Malle (Mali)
Alongside Boubacar Traore, Sekou Koita and Sidiki Maiga, Malle formed part of an impressive attacking line-up that put opponents under pressure right from the off. Operating as a nominal striker, the No9 often dropped deep to pick up the ball and brought his team-mates into the game on countless occasions.

adidas Golden Boot: Victor Osimhen (Nigeria/10 goals, 2 a$$ists)
Victor needs no further introduction, he is the man of the moment obviously. Am sure his dad will be in his house right now like ”Osimhen, I know say one day you go make us Proud”.

RELATED:  AFCON 2017 Failure: I Won’t Resign – NFF boss Amaju Pinnick

adidas Silver Boot: Johannes Eggestein (Germany/4 goals, 0 a$$ists)
Eggestein’s best performances for Germany came in the group stage, where he found the target four times in three matches to go joint-top of the scorers’ chart alongside Osimhen after the first phase of the tournament. Although the striker, who plays for Bundesliga club Werder Bremen, was unable to add to his tally after Germany were eliminated by Croatia in the Round of 16, he still did enough to win the adidas Silver Boot.

RELATED:  (Photos) Real Madrid Champions League Title Celebrations Hit The Streets

Adidas Bronze Boot: Kelechi Nwakali (Nigeria/3 goals, 3 a$$ists)
Captain Fantastic was alway in hand to expel opposition attack Gattuso style and also recycled fast as Cave would do. No doubt, Nwakali is Mr Capable.

Adidas Golden Glove: Samuel Diarra (Mali)
For the fourth time in tournament history, the best goalkeeper of the finals was presented with an award. this time the winner was Samuel Diarra, who reached the final with African champions Mali and routinely frustrated opposition strikers with some spectacular saves

Fair Play Award: Ecuador

In their five games at the tournament, the South Americans only committed 69 fouls, collected just four yellow cards and had one sending off for a second bookable offence, making coach Jose Rodriguez’s charges worthy winners of the FIFA Fair Play Award.

Am The InViCiBLe cyber_lord I caNt ShoUt I Make No NoIse, SiLenTlY i CaMe: MuteLy i LeaVe..

Write A Comment