Facebook is a great way to chronicle your life. You can use it to mark when you get your first job, a promotion at work, first time you visited a country, when you enter into a relationship, and so on. However it isn’t always the happy moments that are recorded, it is the sad ones too like when you breakup with your partner.
We know it sucks to see posts from them after the breakup since it would bring back a lot of memories, so to help making the healing process better, Facebook has introduced a new tool that basically lets you hide your ex from your Newsfeed. Now it is already possible for you to stop posts showing from a particular profile, but this new feature will prompt you when you change your relationship status so that you won’t forget.
It also works both ways. If you’d rather not have your ex see what you’re up to after the breakup, you can choose to hide your posts from them. Facebook also takes it one step further by allowing users to edit who can see past posts with their ex, as well as untag themselves from posts or photos with that person, thus removing questions and awkward questions that might come up in the future.
This feature is only available in the US and on mobile at the moment, but a wider rollout is expected in the future based on user feedback. According to Facebook,